Just another WordPress.com site

Tantos Primeiros

I know, I know…you’re probably thinking what a lazy dog I am since I haven’t written a new blog since May 13th. But I have a pretty good excuse you know. After all, there have been so many firsts (tantos primieros) here in Portugal which have kept me (and mom) quite busy the last couple of weeks.

The first “primeiro” was my auntie Natalie and cousin Bennet arriving on Saturday, May 14. We haven’t had any family visit us since we have been in Portugal, so that was pretty cool. And I have to admit that I was quite surprised when they walked through the door as I wasn’t expecting to see anyone from back home. It was so great to cuddle on the couch with my cousin Bennet who I hadn’t seen since Christmas.

 

Of course for their first evening in Portugal we all went down to our local beach and had dinner…well actually, THEY had dinner while Smudge and I rested under the table.

 

On their first full day in Portugal (Sunday), we all went to Guincho, which is a really big beach that I told you about before. We love this beach, even though they have restrictions now against dogs being on certain parts of the beach cuz it is getting busier. (I don’t know what the big deal is though…are they afraid we will pee on an umbrella or beach towel or something…actually that’s a good idea, I think I might try that!)

 

First we went for a walk along the beach so that auntie Nat and Bennet could get a feel and smell of a Portuguese beach and the Atlantic Ocean.

 I think they liked the beach almost as much as we do!

Then we watched dad have his kite surfing lesson.

 

By the way, the Border Collie in the picture is Jade…she is the instructor’s (Marcas) buddy.

It was so hot, but Smudge and I figured out how to keep cool by laying in dad’s shadow (when he wasn’t chasing the kite of course).

After Guincho, we went to Azenhas do Mar cuz’ they have some really cool waterfalls and pools we like and can play in and drink from.

 

 

And then we went to Sintra where auntie Nat, Bennet and dad visited the “Parque e Palacio da Pena”. (Mom, Smudge and I walked through a cool park while they were at the palace.)

 

When we got home, we all relaxed on the deck.

 

It was a really full day and I think my cousin Bennet had a bit of jet lag…so of course I showed him one of my favourite spots for a wee nap.

 

The next day, mom and dad took them to Cascais on the train. Smudge and I stayed home because it was smokin’ hot that day and we needed our beauty sleep. But mom told me about all the fun things they did…like the cool park…

 

where they saw an amazing peacock. (I have never seen a peacock…I wonder if they like dogs)

 

And a restaurant where cousin Bennet was being offered as a menu item.

 

After walking around Cascais, seeing the marina and the park, having lunch (and gelato), they walked along the seawall heading towards home.

 

Mom told me they saw this really neat art exhibition on their walk.

She took lots of pictures of their day (without me and Smudge) so I wouldn’t feel too left out…even though I was stuck at home with the “wee white one”!

 

But then I got another big surprise on Wednesday, May 17th when my cousin Brenda arrived! This was her first time in Europe and I was so excited that she chose to visit us on this momentous occasion. I really like my cousin Brenda cuz’ she rubs my belly a lot and she (and her three sisters) have always had a special affinity for us four-legged friends. Kin folk like that are really special to me!

So of course on Brenda’s first day an adventure was in order. Mom, Nat, Bennet and Brenda went to Belem for Pasteis, while dad, Smudge and I stayed home since dad had to work and I needed a nap from all the adventures we had been having previously.

 

Then they walked along the water between Belem and Alges to see some sites….

 

 

              Where cousin Bennet almost went for a swim!

Of course they had to stop for some Sangria since it was another first for Nat and Brenda to try in Portugal.

And they ended the day with dinner on Carcavelos beach. (Thankfully dad took Smudge and me for a walk and fed us dinner before he headed off to meet them otherwise I would have been quite peeved off)

The next day, mom, Nat, Bennet and Brenda went to Sesimbra and on their way, they visited a tile factory (Azulejois de Azeitao).

They also made a stop at the Forte do Cavaio that looks over Sesimbra.

                   See the fishing village Sesimbra in the background?

In Sesimbra they had lunch and Bennet collected some seawater from the Atlantic Ocean.

On their way home they stopped at Cabo Espichel, where I think I would have had a lot of fun at since there was lots of space and likely some pretty neat smells since it was so old. But once again, Smudge and I stayed home with dad!

 

 

 

Then the house became empty cuz’ mom, auntie Nat, Bennet and Brenda went to Porto for a couple of days, while (you guessed it), Smudge, dad and I stayed home. Are you seeing a pattern develop?

But at least we get to catch up on our beauty sleep, not that we need it!

(In fact Smudge is so cute, you can hardly tell the difference between him and the stuffy)

They took the train to Porto, which cousin Bennet thought was pretty cool.

And they sure sounded like they had a lot of fun walking around Porto and seeing the sights.

They took a boat tour…

A gondola ride…  

and participated in a few Port tours and tastings. 

 

And even though my cousin Bennet did not participate in the port tasting part, he said he had a lot of fun!

The best part for me was when they came home again and I got to cuddle some more with my cousin Bennet… I like cuddling.

Stay tuned for more adventures ahead with “Familia em Portugal” (Family in Portugal)……

Comments on: "Tantos Primeiros" (3)

  1. Bennet & Nat said:

    Looking at your blog, Dex, makes us want to jump on a plane and come right back.

    Thank you again for all of the adventures.

  2. Hey Dexter,

    Looks like you enjoyed your visit with Nat, Brenda and Bennet. So glad you had fun. Looks like you had pretty changeable weather but that didn’t seem to stop the good times.

  3. Bennet & Nat said:

    And thank you, Linda, for letting us stay at your house. It is a great place, roomy, cool. Nice balcony.

    You must be looking forward to coming home and hanging with Dex and the gang.

Leave a comment